State Laws for Return Policy.

Can Shops Refuse to Give You a Refund?

The federal or state laws do not make a refund and return policy obligatory. Issuing a refund is at the merchant’s discretion, and  If the business has a policy regulating returns and refunds, it usually needs to be posted or displayed noticeably on the website or in the store. State laws can be found in the list below:

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

If a Merchant does not offer an exchange, store credit, or full cash refund, they are required to display their policy at each cash register and sales counter, at the public entrance, or on tags attached to each item sold. If a merchant violates this law (California Civil Code section 1723) by not clearly displaying their limited or no return policy. In that case, you can return the purchased item with proof of purchase for a full refund within 30 days.

Explicit laws about return and refund policies.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as long as it is posted. If there is no policy posted, you have the right to return the new, unused item to the store as long as you have proof of purchase within seven days to get a cash refund or a credit to your account on a credit sale.

You are not entitled to a refund on 

  • Food
  • Perishable items, including live plants
  • Custom-ordered or custom-made items
  • Items that were sold “as is” or as a “final sale”
  • Items with no proof of purchase
  • Used items

Explicit laws about return and refund policies.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy but must clearly display the return policy at the place of sale. If not, the customers may return the items for a full refund within 20 days of the purchase date.

Explicit laws about return and refund policies.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy as long as it is disclosed conspicuously at the time of sale. If the policy is not properly disclosed, merchants must provide a refund.

Explicit laws about return and refund policies.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Explicit laws about return and refund policies.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy. 

  •  If a merchant doesn’t accept returns, they must disclose it.

Kansas

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy as long as displayed on the wall, on the merchandise, or on the receipt. If not posted, the merchant must accept returned merchandise within a reasonable time.

Explicit laws about return and refund policies.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy as long as they are displayed clearly and conspicuously before the transaction is completed. A merchant can place a sign by the cash register and sales counter or at the public entrance. If no return policy is posted, the merchant must accept returned merchandise within a reasonable time.

Explicit laws about return and refund policies.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

A Merchant must clearly and conspicuously display a written notice of their policy (14-point, boldface type). If a merchant fails this requirement, then a cash refund is required of goods that are acceptable for return.

Explicit laws about return and refund policies.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy as long as it is posted conspicuously.

If a policy is not posted, then the merchant must make refunds or provide store credit for any merchandise within 20 days of the purchase date.

The policy must contain information on items without a proof of purchase, products returned time limits, and products sold non-refundable or on sale item refunds will be issued (cash, store credit, etc.).

Explicit laws about return and refund policies.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy as long as posted. If the merchant fails to publish any return policy, the law requires the store to accept returns within 30 days of purchase.

Explicit laws about return and refund policies.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy as long as it is posted conspicuously.

  • If a policy is not posted, then the merchant must make a refund to the consumer.

Explicit laws about return and refund policies.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

A merchant must clearly inform a consumer by a poster or other appropriate notice of their return policy by the cash register and sales counter or at the public entrance if a merchant violates this law by not clearly displaying their limited or no return policy. In that case, you can return the purchased item for a full refund within 10 business days.

Explicit laws about return and refund policies.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

A merchant must clearly inform a consumer by a sign posted at the point of display, the cash register, and sales counter, or the public entrance.

  • If a merchant violates this law, In that case, the consumer is entitled to a full refund.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

A merchant must notify customers of their return policy with a tag attached to the merchandise or a sign placed in a conspicuous area of the merchant’s premises unless the merchant offers a cash or credit refund within 20 days of the purchase date.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.

Wyoming

Merchants may set their return policies as they wish and make refunds according to their return policy.